Localisation ultrasonore
Environnement augmenté

Indoor Positioning

GPS technology is accurate to within meters and ineffective indoor. Is it possible to precisely locate a device (within centimeters) inside a building ? Maybe …

Augmented Environment

Integrate information system to real-world environment with augmented reality ! Holography is still science fiction. But today, devices can give the illusion of it. Foreseeing next-gen interfaces.

RECENT WORKS

Localisation ultrasonore
Environnement augmenté

From the Blog

May
22
Posted by gduhamel on May 22nd, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Natural user interaction with a virtual environment is another subject I was planning to focus on. Today touch screen or motion sensing devices bring us closer to information, making it tangible. However, display is still the same, two-dimensional screen captive. When the information comes on top of user perception, it seems logical to choose its [...]

Mar
31
Posted by gduhamel on March 31st, 2013 at 6:51 pm

After several attempts to detect gesture, relying on skin color, I tried object detection through the famous Viola & jones method. I used it as implemented in OpenCV library. The experiment was about detecting a gesture used to select some displayed item. Among every possible hand movement, the opposite figure seemed the most intuitive and [...]

Mar
17
Posted by gduhamel on March 17th, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Outdoor, in urban or wild environments, you may be served by Global Positionning System, however, Indoor equivalent is quite rare. Some are focused on WIFI signal, others on RFID, trying (badly) to prove themselves as precise as GPS. Seeking a centimeter-accurate solution within closed space actually turned into assault course. Initial Need My first augmented [...]

Sep
27
Posted by gduhamel on September 27th, 2011 at 8:54 am

The general objective of the augmented environment project is to design architectural and software solution allowing anyone to setup an augmented reality persistent environment. By removing the traditional AR-marker constraint, and supplying wearable “glasses-like” display, the goal is to fit information systems in everyday life and scenes. Science fiction anticipates profusion of holograms or see-through [...]

Localisation ultrasonore
Environnement augmenté

Géolocalisation Indoor

La technologie GPS admet une marge d’erreur et fonctionne mal à l’intérieur d’un bâtiment. Est-t-il alors possible de localiser un dispositif avec une précision de l’ordre du centimètre et en espace couvert ? Sans doute, mais pas simple.

Environnement augmenté

Intégrer le système d’information à l’environnement par la réalité augmentée ! La projection holographique est encore de la science fiction. Mais il existe dès aujourd’hui des périphériques qui en donnent l’illusion. Les interfaces de demain prennent un peu d’avance.

Projets

Localisation ultrasonore
Environnement augmenté

Derniers billets

mai
22
Posted by gduhamel on mai 22nd, 2013 at 8:36

L’interaction utilisateur naturelle avec un environnement virtuel est un autre élément auquel je prévoyais de m’intéresser. Aujourd’hui, les dispositifs tactiles et la reconnaissance de mouvement nous rapprochent de l’information en la rendant plus palpable et plus « humainement » atteignable. Malgré tout, le visuel reste identique, enfermé dans les deux dimensions de l’écran qui le [...]

mar
31
Posted by gduhamel on mars 31st, 2013 at 6:51

Après quelques essais de détection de la gestuelle basés sur la couleur de la peau, j’ai tenté l’expérience de la reconnaissance d’objets avec la célèbre méthode de Viola et Jones, telle qu’elle est mise en place dans la bilbiothèque OpenCV. Il s’agissait de détecter un geste traduisant la sélection d’un élément dans l’espace. Des nombreuses [...]

mar
17
Posted by gduhamel on mars 17th, 2013 at 7:12

Si nos villes et nos campagnes sont admirablement couverte par la solution de géolocalisation par satellite, les solutions de localisation en intérieur sont rares. Certaines se focalisent sur les émissions WI-FI, d’autres sur des signaux RFID, pour une précision bien inférieure à celle du GPS. La recherche d’une solution de positionnement centimétrique en espace clos [...]

sept
27
Posted by gduhamel on septembre 27th, 2011 at 8:54

L’objectif du projet d’environnement augmenté est de proposer une architecture et une solution logicielle pour la mise en place d’un environnement de réalité augmentée. En supprimant la contrainte du marqueur de réalité augmenté et en équipant les utilisateurs de périphériques d’affichage de type casque ou lunettes, il est possible d’immerger une personne dans un monde [...]